A miracle of the Panagia Paramythia

SAY to them that are of a fearful heart, Be strong, fear not: behold, your God will come with vengeance, even God with a recompence; he will come and save you.

Then the eyes of the blind shall be opened, and the ears of the deaf shall be unstopped.

Then shall the lame man leap as an hart, and the tongue of the dumb sing.

Is 35:4-6

**

The miraculous myrrh-streaming icon of the Panagia (Paramythia) in the Vatopaidi Monastery, Mount Athos

The miraculous myrrh-streaming icon of the Panagia (Paramythia) in the Vatopaidi Monastery, Mount Athos

**

Testimony: A miracle in my leg.

ACCORDING to testimonies of so many pilgrims, the Panagia Paramythia works miracles in the souls of the faithful in a special way. She comforts the afflicted, she consoles the faint-hearted, she moves to repentance, she “informs” the one who prays.

“I AM still well today”.

A MIRACLE took place in my leg on 22 June 1992. I shall write to you about it.

My leg hurt a great deal in the knee, and could not walk down or climb stairs. So I went to the doctor, who told me I absolutely must undergo surgery otherwise I would be lame.

That was 15 June 1992. I told him that I couldn’t do so at that time, because I was due to leave for the Holy Mountain. He was insistent, and said to me “If you go with this leg of yours to Mount Athos, by the end they will be bringing you back on a stretcher. I told him, “I’m going, and I don’t care”. So that’s what happened.

I arrived on the Holy Mountain with some friends. … When we came to the church at the Vatopaidi [monastery], they were praying to the Virgin Mary. Throughout the Divine Liturgy I was saying, “My Panagia, make me well”.

At the Divine Liturgy for the Vigil of the Panagia Paramythia in the Vatopaidi monastery, the monks sing "It is truly meet"

At the Divine Liturgy for the Vigil of the Panagia Paramythia in the Vatopaidi monastery, the monks sing "It is truly meet".

At about 6 o’clock in the morning, it seemed to me that the [figure of] the Panagia on the picture of the Panagia stood out, and I felt great joy, delight, and I could not explain it. When the Divine Liturgy ended and we went outside the church, Father Ephraim was in the little chapel of the Panagia Paramythia. He had not yet finished.

I said to my companions that we’d go up there, and then go on to the Refectory. They agreed. My cousin came to help me climb the steps to the little chapel of the Paramythia.

On the first step I felt no pain in my leg, then I tried the second – nothing. … For the third step, I put pressure on it to see, and again I felt no pain, so I pushed my cousin aside and started to run up to the chapel of the Paramythia, screaming and crying that it was a miracle.

When we returned to Cyprus, I went to my doctor and I invited him to make an examination. When he examined me, he told me that my leg was in better shape than the other one.

Then I asked him if he believed in miracles, and he said to me “Yes, I do believe in them”. I told him what happened and he said to me: “Glory be to her name, Andrew my friend. Υou are fit as a fiddle”.

And I’m still well today.

Respectfully,

Andrew Evangelides etc..

This is my amateur translation. Source.

**

Apolytikion
Tone 1

WHEN the flock was surrounded by enemies, and hunters were howling at thy sheep, thou didst speak to thy servant, O Pure Lady, in a waking dream thou didst speak unto him. Wherefore also choirs of monks cry out unto thee, O Theotokos: Glory be to thy succour, O honoured Lady, glory be to thy protection; glory O Lady of consolation to thee, who art praised by all.

From the Supplicatory Canon to the Panagia Paramythia (Source). This is my amateur translation.

Leave a Reply

