Let us stand well

MY dear friends, when your Christian life begins to get difficult, and seems to be a cross too heavy to carry, then stand firm, become a witness. Say to yourself, “Let us stand well”, stand firm.

Say, like the prophet, “Behold here am I, O Lord, I stand here ready to do thy will” (Hos 6:8), or like the Panagia, “Behold the handmaid of the Lord: Be it unto me according to thy word” (Lk 1:38).

If you endure, after the tempest will come calm, your soul will rejoice again. In addition, you will now have the experience of spiritual struggle too, you will be experienced.

Following this trial, once you have borne your cross, the flames of God’s love will be lit: you will acquire a love more beautiful, more powerful, more pure, more angel-like, the love of God.

Elder Aimilianos (Vafeidis) of Simonopetra. Original text here.

**

O LORD, I have clearly heard of the mystery of thy saving deeds; I have beheld thy works in my soul, and I have glorified thy Godhead.

MOST Holy Theotokos, save us.

STILL the confusion of my passions, O thou who didst bear the Lord our Governor, and calm the restless sea of my faults, thou Bride of God.

Small Paraklesis.

