A Christian has to be of a poetic turn of mind

THERE is an invisible life, the life of the soul.

This is very potent, and can influence others, even if we are miles apart… And without us speaking, we can spread evil or good however great the distance separating it from our neighbour. What we do not put into words usually has more power than words do. …

As soon as we are given over to the love of Christ, then everything is changed, everything is altered in its very elements, everything is made over, everything made over in its very essence*. Anger, wrath, jealousy, malicious envy, exasperation, blame, ingratitude, melancholy, oppression of spirit, all these become love, joy, longing, a divine passion. Paradise! You rejoice in everything that surrounds us.

Everything teaches us and leads us to God. All around us are drops of God’s love. Both inanimate and animate, both plant and animal, the birds and the hills and the sea and the sunset and the starry heavens. They are little loves, from within which we come to that great Love, which is Christ. The flowers, for example, have their own charm, they teach us by their scent, by their magnificence. They speak to us of the love of God. They give off their scent without partiality, to sinners and to the just alike.

For any man to be a Christian, he must have a poetic soul, he must become a poet…

*The synonyms for alteration used here were used by the Church Fathers to describe the mystical change in the Body and Blood of Christ in the Eucharist.

Elder Porphyrios the Kapsokalyvite (1906-1991). From Αγιορειτικό Βήμα. See my page on Elder Porphyrios for some biography, links to accounts of his amazing spiritual gifts, and a touching video of his sayings.

**

NEITHER tears shed in my weeping
nor the slightest falling tearlet,
O my God, escapes Your notice,
O my Maker, my Redeemer.

And my work yet unaccomplished
is to Your eyes already known
and all the things I’ve not yet done
are for You already written,
in Your book already entered.

Look down on my humbled being
look on my so great contrition
and forgive me my transgressions,
all my sins, O God of all things.

A prayer often repeated by Elder Porphyrios.

