The aim is to live and to love

DO NOT choose negative methods of self-correction. It is not necessary to fear the devil, or punishment, or anything. They create a reaction. I too have a little experience in these matters. The aim is not to sit still, to be afflicted, to strain. The aim is to live, to study, to pray, to progress in love, in the love of Christ, in the love of the Church.

Elder Porphyrios the Kapsokalyvite. Original at Αγιορειτικό Βήμα.

**

THE Lord is my shepherd; and I shall lack for nothing.
There, in a place of green grass, he hath made my pasture.
He reared me beside restful waters.
He corrected my soul: he led me by paths of righteousness, for his name’s sake.

For if I walk in the midst of the shadow of death, I shall fear no evil: because thou art with me.
Thy rod and thy staff, these have been my comfort.

Thou preparedst a table before me, in the face of them that trouble me.
Thou anointedst my head in oil, and thy cup maketh merry as the best wine.

And thy mercy shall follow me all the days of my life,
and my dwelling shall be in the house of the Lord to length of days.

Psalm 22, Septuagint.

