God borrows in secret, but he pays back before the very angels

Saint Epiphanios said:

GOD sells his righteous goods to those who haste to buy them, for a crumb of bread, a cheap scrap of cloth, a cup of cold water, a halfpenny.

He added this too: When a man borrows from another man, either because he is very poor, or because he needs a way out of a difficulty, on repaying the debt he confesses his gratitude, but he repays in secret, because he is ashamed.

Whereas God our Master works the opposite way. He borrows secretly, but he pays back before the angels, archangels and the righteous.

From the Gerontikon. St Epiphanius (d. 403) was Bishop of Salamis in Cyprus. See Wikipedia.

**

ALLELUIA

WHAT shall I render to the Lord for all the things wherein he has rewarded me?
I will take the cup of salvation, and call upon the name of the Lord.
I will pay my vows to the Lord, in the presence of all his people.

Psalm 116:12-14

