All who wait patiently will not be shamed

St Seraphim of Sarov

St Seraphim of Sarov

IN the biography of St Seraphim of Sarov, a Russian named Motovilov had a question about the meaning of grace.

And while he had this question and prayed, God did not show him anything. In the end, he forgot about it.

When twenty years had passed, St Seraphim called him and said, “Come here now, and see what it was you inquired about twenty years back. God is slow, but he does not forget!”

Elder Joseph of Vatopaidi. Original at Γέροντες της εποχής μας. You can read St Seraphim’s remarkable conversation with Nicholas Motovilov (in English) here.

**

TO you, O Lord, I have lifted up my soul. My God, I have trusted in you, do not let me be shamed for ever. Do not let my foes laugh at me; for all who wait patiently for you will not be shamed.

Psalm 24:1-3, sung at Great Compline.

