Teach me kindness

Elder Amphilochios Makris

Elder Amphilochios Makris

DO not be afraid because of your Orthodoxy; do not be afraid because, as an Orthodox in the West, you will be often isolated and always in a small minority. Do not make compromises and do not attack other Christians; do not be either defensive or aggressive; simply be yourself.

Elder Amphilochios Makris (+1970).

**

Psalm 118(119):57-66

THOU art my portion, O Lord: I said that I would keep thy law. I besought thy favour with my whole heart: have mercy upon me according to thy word. I thought on thy ways, and turned my feet to thy testimonies. I prepared myself, (and was not terrified,) to keep thy commandments.

The snares of sinners entangled me: but I forgot not thy law. At midnight I arose, to give thanks to thee for the judgments of thy righteousness. I am a companion of all them that fear thee, and of them that keep thy commandments.

O Lord, the earth is full of thy mercy: teach me thine ordinances. Thou hast wrought kindly with thy servant, O Lord, according to thy word.

Teach me kindness, and instruction, and knowledge: for I have believed thy commandments.

Leave a Reply

