To my Champion and Commander

An image of Mary, Theotokos Glykophilousa

Theotokos Glykophilousa

I WILL sing to you of mercy and judgement, O Lord, I will chant and think on a blameless way: when will you come to me?

I have walked in the midst of my house in the innocence of my heart. I have set no lawless deed before my eyes; I have hated those who commit transgressions.

No twisted heart has been attached to me; the evil man who avoids me I have not acknowledged. The man who secretly slanders his neighbour, him I have driven out.

With a man of proud looks and insatiate heart, I have not eaten. My eyes are upon the faithful in the land, for them to dwell with me; the man who walks on a blameless way, he has ministered to me.

The man who acts proudly has not dwelt in my house; the man who speaks calumnies has not prospered before me.

Morning by morning I slew all the sinners in the land, to purge from the Lord’s city all workers of iniquity.

Psalm 100(101). First Hour.

**

This is picked up at another prayer at the First Hour. The house of the soul is also called the Lord’s city.

At the prayers of the Panagia, the proud inner man no longer dwells in the house of the soul, and the sinful passions are purged from the citadel of the soul.

TO you my Champion and Commander I your city saved from disasters dedicate, O Mother of God, hymns of victory and thanksgiving; but as you have unassailable might from every kind of danger now deliver me, that I may cry to you:

Hail, Bride without bridegroom!

Τῇ ὑπερμάχῳ στρατηγῷ τὰ νικητήρια, ὡς λυτρωθεῖσα τῶν δεινῶν, εὐχαριστήρια, ἀναγράφω σοὶ ἡ Πόλις σου, Θεοτόκε, ἀλλ’ ὦς ἔχουσα τὸ κράτος ἀπροσμάχητον, ἐκ παντοίων μὲ κινδύνων ἐλευθέρωσον ἵνα κράζω σοί, Χαῖρε, Νύμφη ἀνύμφευτε.

Leave a Reply

