Joy

Elder Paisios the Athonite

Elder Paisios the Athonite

On Sunday, I quoted Elder Paisios saying:

THE great sin is joylessness.

This prompted me to collect some short prayers from the Psalms about joy, which lend themselves to being memorised and used throughout the day. Here are some of them.

**

Joy in God’s presence

THOU wilt fill me with joy with thy countenance: at thy right hand there are delights for ever. (Ps 15:11)

Come, let us exult in the Lord; let us make a joyful noise to God our Saviour. Let us come before his presence with thanksgiving, and make a joyful noise to him with psalms. (Ps 94:1-2)

Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth. Serve the Lord with gladness; come before his presence with exultation. (Ps 99:1)

**

Joy in relief

BEHOLD, he has lifted up mine head over mine enemies: I went round and offered in his tabernacle the sacrifice of joy; I will sing, even sing psalms to the Lord. (Ps 26:6)

Thou hast turned my mourning into joy for me: thou hast rent off my sackcloth, and girded me with gladness; that my glory may sing praise to thee, and I may not be pierced with sorrow. O Lord my God, I will give thanks to thee for ever. (Ps 29:11-12)

Sinners spread a snare for me; but I erred not from thy commandments. I have inherited thy testimonies for ever; for they are the joy of my heart. (Ps 118:110-111)

When the Lord turned the captivity of Sion, we became as comforted ones. Then was our mouth filled with joy, and our tongue with exultation. (Ps 125:1)

**

Joy in hope

SING to the Lord, ye his saints, and give thanks for the remembrance of his holiness. For anger is in his wrath, but life in his favour: weeping shall tarry for the evening, but joy shall be in the morning. (Ps 29:4-5)

Thou art my refuge from the affliction that encompasses me; my joy, to deliver me from them that have compassed me. (Ps 31:7)

Thou shalt cause me to hear gladness and joy: the afflicted bones shall rejoice. (Ps 50:8)

Restore to me the joy of thy salvation: establish me with thy directing Spirit. (Ps 50:12)

Turn, O Lord, our captivity, as the streams in the south. They that sow in tears shall reap in joy. (125:4)

Psalm numbering according to the Septuagint. For Protestant Bibles, add 1 to the number of each Psalm.

Leave a Reply

