The strong virtue of the Invocation of the Trinity

St Patrick, Enlightener of Ireland

St Patrick, Enlightener of Ireland (+493)

HOLY God, Holy Strong, Holy Immortal, have mercy upon us.

(usually sung three times, each with the sign of the cross and a metanoia.)

**

Today is the feast of St Patrick, Enlightener of Ireland.

Below are some lines from the ancient hymn known as “St Patrick’s Breastplate”.

I have interspersed them with selected prayers from the Canon to the Trinity, which is sung at the Midnight Office on Sundays (translation from Anastasis).

**

I BIND to myself today The strong virtue of the Invocation of the Trinity: I believe the Trinity in the Unity, The Creator of the Universe.

Light ruling as one and Essence shining with triple radiance, infinite beauty make your dwelling in my heart, and show me to be a pure and radiant temple of your Godhead, as I cry: Bless the Lord, all you works of the Lord!

*

I BIND to myself today The virtue of the Incarnation of Christ with His Baptism, The virtue of His crucifixion with His burial, The virtue of His Resurrection with His Ascension, The virtue of His coming on the Judgement Day.

Almighty Word, who cannot be seen in your own being, you appeared to humankind as a man from the pure Mother of God, restoring humankind to participation in your Godhead.

The Father as he spoke revealed the sonship and the Spirit that appeared to Christ at his baptism; therefore we glorify a Deity one and threefold.

*

I BIND to myself today  The virtue of the love of seraphim,  In the obedience of angels,  In the hope of resurrection unto reward,  In prayers of Patriarchs,  In predictions of Prophets,  In preaching of Apostles,  In faith of Confessors,  In purity of holy Virgins,  In deeds of righteous men.

All we born of earth, imitating the ranks of heavenly natures and the spiritual orders, with right belief glorify one Godhead in three persons equal in operation.

The sayings of the holy Prophets foreshowed you of old in symbols as one creator of all the ages, God inexpressible and Lord in three persons.

(Continues below)

Sea cliffs at Portpatrick, Ireland. © Steve F, Geograph. Used under licence.

Sea cliffs at Portpatrick, Ireland. © Steve F, Geograph. Used under licence.

I BIND to myself today The power of Heaven, The light of the sun, The brightness of the moon, The splendour of fire, The flashing of lightning, The swiftness of wind, The depth of sea, The stability of earth, The compactness of rocks.

O single Godhead with triple sun, make the radiance of your essential splendour shine on me, O uncreated Nature, illuminating Source of every light-giving ray, that I may behold, as in a glass, your ineffable beauty.

Knowing you as only creator and sustainer and truly all-wise governor of the universe and giver of life, we cry out to you in faith: Master of triple sun, guard those who sing your praise.

*

I BIND to myself today God’s Power to guide me, God’s Might to uphold me, God’s Wisdom to teach me, God’s Eye to watch over me, God’s Ear to hear me, God’s Word to give me speech, God’s Hand to guide me, God’s Way to lie before me, God’s Shield to shelter me, God’s Host to secure me, Against the snares of demons, Against the seductions of vices.

Now I direct my whole heart and mind, and all the inclinations of my soul and body to you, my fashioner and deliverer, sole Sovereign of triple light, and I cry out to you: Save me your servant from temptations and afflictions of every kind.

**

Theotokion

SAVE those who believe in you, Lord, and who proclaim one eternal Essence without beginning, three divine and consubstantial Persons, and count us worthy of your divine glory at the entreaties of the pure Mother of God.

Leave a Reply

