A spirit of patience and love

WE glory in tribulations also:
knowing that tribulation worketh patience;
And patience, experience; and experience, hope:
And hope maketh not ashamed;

because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us.

Romans 5:3-5

Elder Joseph Vatopaidinos

Elder Joseph Vatopaidinos

EVERYTHING is put in order with endurance and patience.

To the degree that people forget the idea of the Cross, so evil grows and spreads, with the different pressures which occur both naturally and artificially.

Blessed is the man who is wide awake and praying.

Elder Joseph Vatopaidinos (+2009). Source.

**

I HAVE sinned, O Lord, I could not manage. Help me. Stay with me. You said, “Without me ye can do nothing”.

I have come to understand this very thing. I am conscious of it. That is why I am persisting.

I’m knocking, seeking, asking, I will not stop pestering you! I can’t manage without you. I’m not about to run away.

If your ears do not weary of listening to me, my mouth will not weary of crying out.

I am persisting, it is unmistakably your decision to recall me to repentance. This is something you have done, O divine All-Goodness, I did not do it myself. I did not know God, nor was it possible for me to discover him. You, Lord, All-good, you came and found me, and called me to follow you.

What I have received, I want, I long for. Yet I cannot manage. That’s why I persist, why I want you to help me. It has to be so, if I’m not to lose what you have given to me.

Elder Joseph Vatopaidinos, in “Διδαχές από τον Άθωνα” (here). My amateur translation.

This is typical of Elder Joseph’s heartfelt and childlike prayers. See for example this video, in which the Elder talks about his commission to renew the Vatopaidi monastery (there’s an English translation behind the “Show More” bar).

Leave a Reply

