Hope is the doorway of love

AND Peter remembered the word of Jesus, which said unto him, Before the cock crow, thou shalt deny me thrice. And he went out, and wept bitterly.

Matthew 26:74-75

AND [Judas] cast down the pieces of silver in the temple, and departed, and went and hanged himself.

Matthew 27:3-5

WHENEVER you err and fall, repent once more. Don’t despair. Give yourself courage and hope. Say, “Forgive me, my Christ, once again I am repenting!” Don’t say, “The wrath of God is upon me. Isn’t it a shame? We’re only human”.

Elder Joseph the Hesychast (+1959), in Monastic Wisdom”, Letter 7 (p. 68).

**

Confession and absolution in an Orthodox church

Confession and absolution in an Orthodox church

AND one of the malefactors which were hanged railed on him, saying, If thou be Christ, save thyself and us.

Luke 23:39

AND [the other] said unto Jesus, Lord, remember me when thou comest into thy kingdom.

Luke 23:42

ABBA Xanthias said, “The thief was on the cross and he was justified by a single word; and Judas who was counted in the number of the Apostles lost all his labour in one single night and descended from heaven to hell. Therefore, let no-one boast of his good works, for all those who trust in themselves fall”.

Sayings of the Desert Fathers, Letter Xi (p. 159).

**

HOPE is the power behind love. Hope is what causes us to look forward to the reward of love.

Hope is an abundance of hidden treasure. It is the abundant assurance of the riches in store for us. It is a rest from labor, a doorway of love. It lifts despair and is the image of what is not yet present. When hope fails, so does love. Struggles are bound by it, labors depend on it, and mercy lies all around it.

The hopeful monk slays despondency, kills it with his sword. Hope comes from the experience of the Lord’s gifts, and someone with no such experience must be ever in doubt. Hope is destroyed by anger, for hope does not disappoint and the angry man has no grace.

St John Climacus, “Ladder of Divine Ascent” Step 30 (On Faith, Hope and Love)

**

Exapostilarion

YOUR bridal chamber, O my Saviour, I see all adorned, but I have no garment so that I may enter it. Make bright the mantle of my soul, O Giver of light, and save me! (Three times)

**

The video below comes from Metropolitan Hilarion’s “St Matthew Passion”. It is an exquisite Aria based on Peter’s Denial.

The words are (I believe; alas, I have no Russian) “O God, cleanse me!”


2 thoughts on “Hope is the doorway of love

Leave a Reply

