My cry shall enter before him

I WILL love thee, O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my firm support, and my refuge, and my deliverer; my God is my helper, I will hope in him; he is my defender, and the horn of my salvation, and my helper.

Ps 17(18):1-2.

**

Elder Joseph Vatopaidinos (+2009)

Elder Joseph Vatopaidinos (+2009)

WE never want to deny and betray God’s love, but all our mistakes are contained within our weakness, inexperience and ignorance.

And continually falling, we cry out “Be merciful to me, a sinner!”, to appeal to a new form of co-operation with Grace, in order to bring our understanding and our powers to completion, so that we see well and act correctly, and in this way, are able to walk uprightly in these difficult days.

Elder Joseph Vatopaidinos (+2009), in Δίδαχες από τον Άθωνα. My amateur translation.

**

I WILL call upon the Lord with praises, and I shall be saved from mine enemies. The pangs of death compassed me, and the torrents of ungodliness troubled me exceedingly. The pangs of hell came round about me: the snares of death prevented me.

And when I was afflicted I called upon the Lord, and cried to my God: he heard my voice out of this holy temple, and my cry shall enter before him, even into his ears.

It is God that girds me with strength, and has made my way blameless: who strengthens my feet as hart’s feet, and sets me upon high places. He instructs my hands for war: and thou hast made my arms as a brazen bow.

And thou hast made me secure in my salvation: and thy right hand has helped me, and thy correction has upheld me to the end; yea, thy correction itself shall instruct me. Thou has made room for my goings under me, and my footsteps did not fail.

Ps 17(18):3-6, 32-36 (LXX).

Leave a Reply

