For thy sake

SIR, I have no man, when the water is troubled, to put me into the pool: but while I am coming, another steppeth down before me.

See John 5:1-9.

**

Icon of the Mother of God

“Blessed art thou, undefiled Maiden, daughter of earth-born Adam.”

NEXT the Sheep Pool a man lay ailing. And when he beheld thee O Lord he cried out,

“I have no one to put me into it, when the water is troubled; but if I make my way, another preventeth me, and receiveth healing, while I lie ailing”.

And straightway the Saviour, being moved with compassion, saith unto him:

“For thy sake I became man. For thy sake I clothed myself in flesh.

“And sayest thou, ‘I have no one’?

“Take up thy bed, and walk.”

All things are possible to thee. All things obey. All things are subject.

Remember us all, and have mercy O Holy One, as thou lovest mankind.

At the Liti on the eve of the Sunday of the Paralysed Man. This is my own translation. See Anastasis for another, and the original Greek at Analogion.

**

O GREATEST of wonders! A virgin bears a child, and the infant born is God before the ages. The offspring was made manifest, and what was accomplished above nature.

O awful mystery! that which was perceived remaineth beyond speech, and that which was seen is not comprehended.

Blessed art thou, undefiled Maiden, daughter of earth-born Adam, manifested also as Mother of the God the Most High. Implore him, to save our souls.

At Small Vespers.

Leave a Reply

