Let us not turn back until we reach love, which is our sweet Jesus

Today is the Sixth Sunday after Pascha, the Sunday of the Blind Man (see John 9:1-39).

LET us purify our senses, and we shall see Christ shining forth, in the unapproachable light of the Resurrection, and we shall clearly hear him saying ‘Rejoice!’, as we sing the triumphal song.

Troparion at Matins.

**

ONCE a man comes to repentance from his previous sinful life, he forces himself to stay within the divine Law.

And due to his passionate habits, he undergoes great struggles and suffers sharp pains.

Then divine grace secretly gives him comfort and joy, mourning, delight, and sweetness from the divine words he reads, as well as strength and boldness in his spiritual struggle.

This is called purifying grace which mystically helps the struggling penitent to be purified from sins and to remain in the state according to nature.

Sunrise at Rhu Noa pier on Loch Maree near Taagan in Scotland. © Tom Forrest, Geograph. Used under licence.

Sunrise at Rhu Noa pier on Loch Maree near Taagan in Scotland. © Tom Forrest, Geograph. Used under licence. Click for original.

So if he remains there, in the state according to nature, and does not stop struggling, does not turn back, is not negligent, and does not fall from his post, but endures and forces himself to bear good fruits, being patient and accepting the continuous changes of nature, and awaiting the mercy of God;

then his nous receives divine illumination and becomes entirely divine light, by which he noetically perceives the truth and discerns how he must proceed until he reaches love, which is our sweet Jesus.

Elder Joseph the Hesychast, “Monastic Wisdom” Letter 82 Chapter XI.

**

THE Lord is my light and my Saviour; whom shall I fear?

The Lord is the defender of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?

When evil-doers drew nigh against me to eat up my flesh, my persecutors and mine enemies, they fainted and fell.

Though an army should set itself in array against me, my heart shall not be afraid: though war should rise up against me, in this am I confident.

One thing have I asked of the Lord, this will I earnestly seek: that I should dwell in the house of the Lord, all the days of my life, that I should behold the fair beauty of the Lord, and survey his temple.

Psalm 26(27):1-4 (LXX).

Leave a Reply

