Set a watch, O Lord, on my mouth, and a strong door about by lips

O LORD, I have cried to thee; hear me: attend to the voice of my supplication, when I cry to thee.

Let my prayer be set forth before thee as incense; the lifting up of my hands as an evening sacrifice.

Set a watch, O Lord, on my mouth, and a strong door about my lips.

Psalm 140(141):1-3

**

Chanting the Cherubic Hymn at the Vatopaidi Monastery, Mount Athos

Chanting the Cherubic Hymn at the Vatopaidi Monastery, Mount Athos

**

O THOU who settest souls at liberty, O redeemer of the world, Jesus Christ, eternal God, immortal king, I, even I a sinner, implore thy immeasurable clemency, that by thy great pity, and by the intoning of Psalms which I an unworthy sinner have chanted, thou wilt set my soul at liberty from sin.

Turn my heart aside from all evil, crooked, treacherous, thoughts, set my body at liberty from slavery to sin, drive far from me fleshly lust, snatch me from every hindrance of satan’s doing, and of his visible and invisible ministers, of your faithless enemies seeking my soul.

Guard me from these and all evils, O Saviour of the world, who with God the Father and the Holy Spirit livest and reignest, and hast the dominion, God throughout endless ages of ages. Amen.

St Bede (+735).

Leave a Reply

