Manifest all Your splendour, O Holy Spirit, so that my soul may recognize whose bride she is

AS the bridegroom rejoiceth over the bride, so shall thy God rejoice over thee.

Isaiah 62:5

**

An icon of Christ the Bridegroom

Christ the Bridegroom

**

IT is the Spirit in Whom we worship, and in Whom we pray.

For Scripture says, God is a Spirit, and they that worship Him must worship Him in Spirit and in truth (Jn 4:24).

And again,—We know not what we should pray for as we ought; but the Spirit Itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered (Rom 8:26); and I will pray with the Spirit and I will pray with the understanding also (1 Cor 14:15); — that is, in the mind and in the Spirit.

Therefore to adore or to pray to the Spirit seems to me to be simply Himself offering prayer or adoration to Himself.

St Gregory Nazianzen, “Fifth Theological Oration: On the Holy Spirit” §12.

**

COME closer to me, closer still, O majestic Spirit of Truth.

Draw near, and enter into me, more deeply than light and air enter me.

Indeed, I can spend an entire night without light, but without You I cannot even lie down on my bed.

I can take ten steps without air, but without You I cannot even take one.

Take up your abode in my soul more deeply than my thought can follow.

The entire universe is insufficient to encourage my soul to persevere in virginity, if You do not encourage her.

The world incessantly asks for the hand of my soul, in order to be wedded to her.

The world offers my soul all its treasures, if only she will abandon her waiting for You.

The world whitewashes all its sepulchres, just to entice my soul.

The world sets all its ashes out in the sun and pours flattery and pomposity all over it, just to seduce my soul.

Manifest all Your splendor, O Holy Spirit, so that my soul may recognize whose bride she is.

St Nikolai Velimirovic, “Prayers by the Lake” No. XLVII (Source).

Leave a Reply

