Bring what you can to the Lord

AND he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness.

Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.

2 Corinthians 12:9-10

**

Woman lighting church candles

“Fill up what you lack in ascetic practices by an abundance of humility.”

**

YOU are not able, because of the sickly condition of your body, to fast and afflict yourself harshly.

Bear this without grieving, bringing what you can to the Lord and filling up what you lack in ascetic practices by an abundance of humility.

St Theodore the Studite (+826), Letter to Anna. Translation by Archimandrite Ephrem Lash, at Anastasis.

Anna was a widow, perhaps wealthy, who had adopted the monastic way of life.

**

GIVE us strength, Pure Virgin, to fast from every evil, and ever give us power to keep from mean and wicked deeds, for you are the protection of all mankind.

Canon for the Holy Cross, set for August 1. Translation from Anastasis.

Leave a Reply

