I found him whom my soul loves: I held him, and did not let him go

Three glimpses of the Bridal Chamber, where Christ the Bridegroom is made one body with the Church, his Bride (cf. Col 1:21-242 Cor 11:2):

in the womb of Mary,

at the Transfiguration of Christ,

and at the Marriage Supper of the Lamb.

**

The Marriage Supper of the Lamb

LET us be glad and rejoice, and give honour to him: for the marriage of the Lamb is come, and his wife hath made herself ready.

And to her was granted that she should be arrayed in fine linen, clean and white: for the fine linen is the righteousness of saints.

And he saith unto me, Write, Blessed are they which are called unto the marriage supper of the Lamb.

Revelation 19:7-9

**

An icon of the Transfiguration, in the Monastery of St Catherine on Mount Sinai

An icon of the Transfiguration, in the Monastery of St Catherine on Mount Sinai

**

The Transfiguration

MAKING ready for his friends the bridal chamber of glory of the joy to come Christ ascends the mountain, bringing them up from a lowly life on earth to a way of life high above the world.

Triode of the Forefeast of the Transfiguration.

**

The Mother of God

COME, godly-minded people, as we celebrate this divine and honoured feast of the Mother of God, let us clap our hands as we glorify the God who was born from her.

Spotless bridal chamber of the Word, cause of the deification of all, hail, All-immaculate, the resonance of the Prophets! Hail, the adornment of the Apostles!

Canon of the Akathist.

The melody for this hymn is directed to be used when singing the hymn on the Transfiguration above, thus linking them theologically.

**

The Song of Songs is generally interpreted by the Church Fathers as a mystical expression of the love between the Church (and each Christian soul) and Christ.

BY night on my bed I sought him whom my soul loves: I sought him, but found him not; I called him, but he hearkened not to me.

I will rise now, and go about in the city, in the market-places, and in the streets, and I will seek him whom my soul loves: I sought him, but I found him not.

The watchmen who go their rounds in the city found me. I said, Have ye seen him whom my soul loves?

It was as a little while after I parted from them, that I found him whom my soul loves: I held him, and did not let him go.

Song of Songs 3:1-4

Leave a Reply

