I will shelter under the shadow of Thy wings

O GOD, hearken to my petition; attend to my prayer.

From the ends of the earth have I cried to thee, when my heart was in trouble: thou liftedst me up on a rock thou didst guide me: because thou wert my hope, a tower of strength from the face of the enemy.

I will dwell in thy tabernacle for ever; I will shelter myself under the shadow of thy wings.

Psalm 60(61)

**

An icon of the Resurrection, showing Jesus, Adam and Eve

An icon of the Resurrection, showing Jesus, Adam and Eve.

**

IT can appear that in marriage, those wedded together are two in number.

Yet they are not two, but three.

The husband weds his wife, and the wife her husband, but the two of them together are also given in marriage to Christ.

So three take part in the sacrament, and moreover three remain in their life. […]

EVERYTHING that is done right to the end of the marriage service is a shadow and symbol which displays that Christ is there.

When you are sitting and suddenly catch sight of a shadow, you understand that someone is coming. You don’t see him: but you know it.

You get up bright and early and you see the reddening horizon in the east. In a moment, you say, the sun is going to rise… […]

Elder Aimilianos of Simonopetra (b. 1934)

Elder Aimilianos of Simonopetra (b. 1934)

WHEN you look at your marriage, your husband, your wife, when you look at your vexations, everything in your house, you should appreciate that they are indications of the presence of Christ.

It is as if you hear his steps, as if he is coming, as if you are now even on the point of hearing his voice.

These are all shadows which show that Christ is with us.

It is true that, because of our cares we feel like he is absent.

But we see him by means of the shadows and we are assured that he is with us.

Elder Aimilianos of Simonpetra (b. 1934).

From a series of quotations collected in “Ο Γέροντας Αιμιλιανός μας συμβουλεύει…” at Απόψεις για τη Μονή Βατοπαιδίου. My non-expert translation.

**

HE that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.

I will say of the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.

[…]

BECAUSE he hath set his love upon me, therefore will I deliver him: I will set him on high, because he hath known my name.

He shall call upon me, and I will answer him: I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him, and honour him.

With long life will I satisfy him, and shew him my salvation.

From Psalm 91(90), KJV.

Leave a Reply

