Whoever loves Christ and other people truly lives life

WHEN thou prayest, enter into thy closet, and when thou hast shut thy door, pray to thy Father which is in secret; and thy Father which seeth in secret shall reward thee openly.

Matthew 6:6

**

THE Lord does not require us to wear a [cassock] — He wants us to be good and kind.

Elder Thaddaeus of Vitovnica, in “Our Thoughts Determine Our Lives”. He was recalling advice given to a young woman whose family obligations prevented her from entering a convent.

*

Orthodox liturgical books (for Matins and the Psalms) and a candle

Orthodox liturgical books (for Matins and the Psalms) and a candle.

IF someone wishes to become a saint [να αγιάσει] and for some reason cannot go to a monastery, let him turn his room into a cell.

There, hidden from men, let him perform all his spiritual duties, that is to say, services, readings, prostrations, prayer ropes etc..

One such, for example, might go to church for communion, and afterwards return to his house and behave like the hermits in their cells.

Thanks be to God, there are many such people in the world, by whom those of us who call ourselves monks are put to shame.

Elder Paisios the Athonite. My non-expert translation, from Άγιον Όρος.

*

IF you are in love, you can live amid the hustle and bustle of the city center and not be aware you are in the city center…

Imagine the person you love is Christ. Christ is in your mind, Christ is in your heart, Christ is in your whole being, Christ is everywhere.

Whoever loves Christ and other people truly lives life. Life without Christ is death; it is hell, not life. Life is Christ. Love is the life of Christ. Either you will be in life or in death. It’s up to you to decide.

Elder Porphyrios the Kapsokalyvite, in “Wounded By Love”, p 97 (source). It may help to recall that in Orthodox spirituality, the human soul is the bride and Christ the Bridegroom.

**

CHRIST with me, Christ before me, Christ behind me,
Christ in me, Christ beneath me, Christ above me,
Christ on my right, Christ on my left,
Christ when I lie down, Christ when I sit down, Christ when I arise,
Christ in the heart of every man who thinks of me,
Christ in the mouth of everyone who speaks of me,
Christ in every eye that sees me,
Christ in every ear that hears me.

I ARISE today
Through a mighty strength, the invocation of the Trinity,
Through belief in the threeness,
Through confession of the oneness,
Of the Creator of Creation.

“St Patrick’s Breastplate”.

Leave a Reply

