Ye shall find Me, when ye shall search for Me with all your heart.

THEN shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you.

And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.

Jeremiah 29:12-13

**

Elder Joseph the Hesychast

Elder Joseph the Hesychast (+1959)

**

Today is the (Old Calendar) anniversary of the repose of Elder Joseph the Hesychast in 1959.

SINCE God is continuously present, why do you worry? For in Him we live and move. We are carried in His arms.

We breathe God; we are vested with God; we touch God; we consume God in the Mystery.

Wherever you turn, wherever you look, God is everywhere: in the heavens, on the earth, in the abysses, in the trees, within the rocks, in your nous, in your heart.

So can’t He see that you are suffering, that you are going through tribulations?

Tell Him your grievances and you will see consolation, you will see healing which will heal not only the body, but even more so the passions of your soul.

Elder Joseph the Hesychast (+August 28, 1959), “Monastic Wisdom”, Letter 30 (p. 161).

**

O GOD, who is like to thee?

What afflictions many and sore hast thou shewed me! yet thou didst turn and quicken me, and broughtest me again from the depths of the earth.

Thou didst multiply thy righteousness, and didst turn and comfort me, and broughtest me again out of the depths of the earth.

I will also therefore give thanks to thee, O God, because of thy truth, on an instrument of psalmody: I will sing psalms to thee on the harp, O Holy One of Israel.

Psalm 70(71):19-22

Leave a Reply

