Righteous art thou, O Lord, and upright are thy judgments

I KNOW, O Lord, that thy judgments are righteousness, and that thou in truthfulness hast afflicted me.

Let, I pray thee, thy mercy be to comfort me, according to thy word to thy servant.

Righteous art thou, O Lord, and upright are thy judgments.

Psalm 118(119):75-76, 137.

**

Elder Paisios the Athonite (1924-1994)

Elder Paisios the Athonite (1924-1994)

Elder Paisios (+1994) told a parable to illustrate the unsearchable judgments of God, which you can find in Greek at Άγιον Όρος and in English at OODEGR. (NB There’s a small typo in the English translation: we are directed to Ps 137 for the moral, but in fact the line comes from Ps 118:137.)

“BECAUSE you have requested to learn, go down into the world and sit in a certain spot discreetly and note whatever you shall see from there, so that with this minor test, you will get an idea of what God’s judgments are. That way, you will come to understand just why God’s providential administration in all things is unsearchable and unfathomable.”

On hearing this, the old ascetic carefully walked down towards the inhabited areas until he reached a meadow that was crossed by a busy main road. There was a spring and an old tree nearby, so the elder hid himself carefully in the hollow trunk of the tree and decided to observe from there. Continue reading…

**

Psalm 130(131)

O LORD, my heart was not exalted, neither were mine eyes lifted high: neither did I exercise myself in great matters, nor in things too wonderful for me.

If I have not been humble minded, but have exulted my soul, like a weaned child against his mother, so wilt thou recompense my soul.

Let Israel hope in the Lord, from henceforth and for ever.

Psalm 130(131), LXX. My translation, drawing on Brenton and the NETS version.

Leave a Reply

