The glorious cross heals each one of those who reverence it

A Romanian Orthodox priest hold an icon of Christ crucified during the liturgy for Great Thursday, at the Pasarea monastery near Bucharest.

“Mickle might for help to men.” A Romanian Orthodox priest hold an icon of Christ crucified during the liturgy for Great Thursday, at the Pasarea monastery near Bucharest.

ON me God’s Son
Suffered awhile; so glorious now
I tower to Heaven, and I may heal
Each one of those who reverence me;
Of old I became the hardest of pains,
Most loathsome to ledes [nations], the way of life,
Right way, I prepared for mortal men.

Lo! the Lord of Glory honored me then
Above the grove, the guardian of Heaven,
As He His mother, even Mary herself,
Almighty God before all men
Worthily honored above all women.

Now thee I bid, my dearest man,
That thou this sight shalt say to men,
Reveal in words, ’tis the tree of glory,
On which once suffered Almighty God
For the many sins of all mankind,
And also for Adam’s misdeeds of old.

Death tasted He there; yet the Lord arose
With His mickle might for help to men.

From “The Dream of The Rood”, attributed to Caedmon (7th century) or Cynewulf (8th century). Source.

Leave a Reply

