O Virgin, show thy tender pity upon us

O YE sons on men, how long will ye be slow of heart? wherefore do ye love vanity, and seek falsehood? Pause.

But know ye that the Lord has done wondrous things for his holy one: the Lord will hear me when I cry to him.

Psalm 4:2-3

**

A fourteenth century icon of the Protection of the Mother of God. From Wikimedia Commons.

A fourteenth century icon of the Protection of the Mother of God. From Wikimedia Commons.

**

Theotokion

I AM cast down by wicked thoughts into a deep of sins that make my footsteps slide, and in my groaning cry out to thee from the heart, O All-immaculate Lady: let thy rich mercy do wondrous things for me, the measureless riches of thy compassions and the shoreless sea of thy tender pity; and grant unto me repentance, and correction of life, that I might cry out unto thee with longing: ‘Intercede with thy son and God, that he grant unto me forgiveness for my failings, for I have thee for hope, though I am an unworthy servant’.

or this Cross-Theotokion

AS she watched the Lamb and Shepherd and Redeemer on the Cross, the ewe-lamb wept aloud in grief, and in bitter sorrow called out: ‘The world rejoiceth, receiving redemption: but my bowels are consumed in flame by the sight of thy crucifixion, which because of thy tender mercies thou sufferest, O God beyond all good, O Lord enduring pain’; let us loudly call out to her: ‘O Virgin, show thy tender pity upon us, and grant forgiveness to them that with true religion worship his sufferings’.

Matins, October 2. Source.

Leave a Reply

