A gentle calm, and a garment of grace

THEREFORE, Put on therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, bowels of mercies, kindness, humbleness of mind, meekness, longsuffering; Forbearing one another, and forgiving one another, if any man have a quarrel against any: even as Christ forgave you, so also do ye.

And above all these things put on charity, which is the bond of perfectness.

And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to the which also ye are called in one body; and be ye thankful.

Colossians 3:12-14

**

A view out across the north sea from Johnshaven harbour, Aberdeenshire. © Dona Robbins, Geograph. Licensed for reuse. Click for original.

‘Harbour of salvation without fear of flood, truly a gentle calm’. A view from Johnshaven harbour, Aberdeenshire. © Dona Robbins, Geograph. Licensed for reuse. Click for original.

**

Theotokion.

WE have thee, O immaculate Lady, as a harbour of salvation without fear of flood, and truly a gentle calm; we are greatly tossed on the wintry sea of the hardships of life, and affairs that terrify us, and to thee we all haste for protection, crying out: Do not ever cease to be Steward of thy household servants.

Or this Cross-Theotokion.

THOU ewe-lamb, that barest the little lamb without blemish, O all-immaculate Lady, that barest him who came to heal the sin of the world by his own blood, the sacrificial victim for our sakes who also giveth life to all that is; clothe me, who was stripped of divine incorruption, in a garment of divine grace spun from the wool of this thy young one.

Vespers, October 5. Source.

2 thoughts on “A gentle calm, and a garment of grace

  1. I love coming to your blog. Such beautiful, uplifting posts. I think I wrote to you that I was raised RC but intrigued and “at home” in Orthodox faith — just haven’t made “the jump” yet!

  2. ZurichMike, I’m so glad you like it! I suppose my blog’s underlying theme is that Christ didn’t do what he did to make us ashamed or desperate, or quiet an angry God, but to show us what the Father’s love, ‘love all lovely’, looks like, and to wrap us in it. This is what comes to me out of the liturgy, and especially the prayers to the Mother of God. These words of Elder Porphyrios say it better:

    Well then, really this is the way we should see Christ. He is our friend, our brother; he is whatever is good and beautiful. He is Everything. Yet, he is still a friend, and he shouts it out, “You’re my friends, don’t you understand that? We’re brothers. I’m not….I don’t hold hell in my hand. I’m not threatening you. I love you. I want you to enjoy life together with me.” Do you understand?

Leave a Reply

