Do not overlook me

THEN he brought me back the way of the gate of the outward sanctuary which looketh toward the east; and it was shut.

Then said the LORD unto me; This gate shall be shut, it shall not be opened, and no man shall enter in by it; because the LORD, the God of Israel, hath entered in by it, therefore it shall be shut.

It is for the prince; the prince, he shall sit in it to eat bread before the LORD; he shall enter by the way of the porch of that gate, and shall go out by the way of the same.

Ezekiel 44:1-3. This image is taken by the Orthodox Church as an prophecy of Mary, ever-virgin.

**

An icon of the Theotokos

“My child, do not leave me who bare thee, give me some word, my son, do not slip away from thy handmaid in silence.”

**

For with the Lord is mercy, and with him is plenteous redemption. And he shall redeem Israel from all his iniquities. (Ps 129:7-8)

REJOICE, Lady, Theotokos, rejoice, sceptre of David.

Rejoice, heavenly gate [Ez 44:1-3. Gate of the Temple by which God entered, and by which the Prince came forth; and which was then shut forever.]

Rejoice, bush unconsumed [Ex 3:2. The burning bush, from which God spoke, but which was not destroyed.]

Rejoice, hill in shadow [Ps 80:8-12?. Israel is a vine, which spreads out over the hills and covers them in shade.]

Rejoice, candlestick [Ex 25:31-40. One of the ornaments of the Temple. Mary is the lampstand, Christ the light.]

Rejoice, all immaculate lady.

Rejoice, earthen vessel [Ex 16:33. This jar held Manna, the bread of life. It was kept with Aaron’s staff in the Ark of the Covenant.]

Rejoice, royal palace.

Rejoice, all-spotless Mother of our God.

Rejoice, tongs [Is 6:6-7. In Isaiah’s vision, the angel brought a burning coal in tongs to purge the prophet’s sins. Christ is the coal, humanity suffused with divine fire.]

Rejoice, divine table [Ex 25:23-30. The Temple had a table on which the twelve loaves of the Bread of the Presence (Shewbread) was kept as a ‘remembrance’ before God.]

Rejoice, hope of the world.

Praise the Lord, all ye nations: praise him, all ye peoples. (Ps 116:1)

THE waves of my sins, lifted up on high like a dreadful sea, bear down upon me and would rush over my head, but stretch out thy hand O Lady, (as once happened to Peter, who was sinking,[Mt 14:22-33]) and rescue me, guide me into the harbour of repentance I beg, O Mother of God, immaculate, thou art praised everywhere, thou art hope of all the world.

For his mercy hath been abundant toward us: and the truth of the Lord endureth for ever. (Ps 116:2)

BY the passions of sin, I the wretched am in dread darkness, hastening toward a fall over the precipice of rejection; have compassion on me, blessed Lady, Lady of God’s most abundant grace, shine upon me the bright light of thy tender pity, and guide me upon straight paths, I beseech thee, all pure Lady, and I beg: do not overlook me.

Glory be to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit
Both now and for ever, and to the ages of ages.

Cross-Theotokion

THE all pure Lady watched thee, O Christ, hanging of thy own free will upon the Cross, knowing thy kingly power, and she was bent double in grief; and to thee she cried out aloud in her mourning, My child, do not leave me who bare thee, give me some word, my son, do not slip away from thy handmaid in silence, O Word of God.

At Vespers on Fridays, Plagal of the Fourth Tone. Source.

Leave a Reply

