Let her be ceaselessly honoured with hymns

Panagia glykofilousa (sweetly kissing)

She turned the mortal curse into a blessing: our confidence is in her.

**

Theotokion

LET her be ceaselessly honoured with hymns, who is incomparably beyond the cherubim and seraphim, who bare God in a manner which cannot be searched out, who turned the mortal curse into a blessing: for our confidence is in her.

Irmos

O CHRIST, who from the beginning established the heavens in understanding, and founded the earth upon the waters, fix me upon the rock of the Church, because there is none holy beside thee, who alone loveth mankind.

Matins, October 9. Source.

**

GREATER in honour than the cherubim, and past compare more glorious than the seraphim; without corruption, thou gavest birth to God the Word. Truly the Theotokos, we magnify thee.

2 thoughts on “Let her be ceaselessly honoured with hymns

  1. I think I’ve posted before how devoted I am to the Blessed Mother, and it always thrilling to come to this blog to see such beautiful devotions to her. This kind of music reaches deep, deep into my soul — it make me soar and lifts my spirits like nothing else. I have also added this kind of music to my collection from iTunes (oddly, some Byzantine music I downloaded was listed as “world music” not “religious music”).

    Thank you, truly, for this site.

    Kind regards,

    ZurichMike

Leave a Reply

