I will love thee, O Lord, my strength

I WILL love thee, O Lord, my strength.

The Lord is my firm support, and my refuge, and my deliverer; my God is my helper, I will hope in him; he is my defender, and the horn of my salvation, and my helper.

I will call upon the Lord with praises, and I shall be saved from mine enemies.

The pangs of death compassed me, and the torrents of ungodliness troubled me exceedingly. The pangs of hell came round about me: the snares of death prevented me.

And when I was afflicted I called upon the Lord, and cried to my God: he heard my voice out of this holy temple, and my cry shall enter before him, even into his ears.

Psalm 17:1-6 (LXX)

**

An altar and priest in an Orthodox church

“And when I was afflicted I called upon the Lord, and cried to my God: he heard my voice out of this holy temple.”

**

WHO is he that will not bless thee, Panagia, Virgin? Who will not raise a hymn in honour of thy son, born without the pangs of childbirth?

For he that beyond time shone forth from the Father as his only-begotten Son, this same came forth from thee, the pure Lady, enfleshed in a manner that cannot be told.

He is by nature God and yet became by nature man for our sakes, not divided into two persons, but made known in two natures without mingling. Make petition to him, O reverend Lady, in all things blessed, that he have mercy upon our souls.

I WILL love thee, O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my firm support, and my refuge, and my deliverer.

MY God is my helper, I will hope in him.
I will call upon the Lord with praises.
He heard my voice from his holy temple.

Source.

2 thoughts on “I will love thee, O Lord, my strength

  1. That is a very holy picture! A very holy room. Virginia Woolf said that in order for a woman to write fiction, she must have money and a room of her own; I would say that all I need is just a holy room of my own where I can write and pray. I always fantasize about buying an old church building and convert it into my house. ;)

    By the way, it’s so hard to believe that God hears our voices and personally answers- even though I have been answered so many times in the past and He has proved Himself to be faithful. I think this psalm cures my doubtful mind and heart.

  2. It’s a wonderful picture. And of course the black-and-white just makes it more dramatic.

    I’d always be itching to turn an old church into an Orthodox church! We’re a bit short of them round here.

    It is sometimes hard to believe that God is listening and answering, especially when things are really bad. But you’re right, the experience is there, and there is the testimony of others. And anyway, I think this is all part of the process. It is part of wrestling like Jacob, finding out God’s name, the name of love. You struggle and are wounded, but afterwards you know that God was there. (Gen 32:24-32)

Leave a Reply

