At thy fair virginity

An icon of the Annunciation of the angel Gabriel to the Mother of God

An icon of the Annunciation of the angel Gabriel to the Mother of God

**

AT thy fair virginity
and the surpassing brightness of thy purity,
Gabriel was filled with wonder,
And cried out unto thee, O Theotokos:
‘What title of honor shall I bestow upon thee?
How shall I address thee? I am bewildered and struck with awe.
But as I was commanded I shall cry out to thee,
Hail, full of grace!’

**

Την ωραιότητα της παρθενίας Σου
Petros Gaïtanos

2 thoughts on “At thy fair virginity

  1. Based upon my Protestant days’ experiences, Our Blessed Mother Mary is often so overlooked and the significance of her faith and purity in loving God not remembered. That’s what I love about Catholicism, and now, Orthodox, as well-thanks to you!- I’ve finally found the complete Holy Family who adopted me as their own. It’s so amazing getting to know them and grow in love by them in such a personal way.

  2. That’s been my path too. I’m sure Mary draws us on to her, because she wants us to share her joy. I think she wants us to know that God does not simply use people in redemption. In being born from her, he took her as his dear mother for evermore. And in the same way, he doesn’t just save us, he takes each one of us as his own dear child for evermore. As you say, it is personal, deeply personal.

Leave a Reply

