Behold, a virgin shall conceive

AND the Lord again spoke to Achaz, saying, Ask for thyself a sign of the Lord thy God, in the depth or in the height.

And Achaz said, I will not ask, neither will I tempt the Lord.

And he said, Hear ye now, O house of David; is it a little thing for you to contend with men? and how do ye contend against the Lord? Therefore the Lord himself shall give you a sign; behold, a virgin shall conceive in the womb, and shall bring forth a son, and thou shalt call his name Emmanuel.

Isaiah 7:10-14 (LXX).

**

HAIL Mary, Virgin Theotokos, full of grace, the Lord is with thee.
Blessed art thou among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb,
for thou gavest birth to the Saviour of our souls.

**

Theotokion.

IN purity of the heart’s eye [nous], O Virgin, did Isaiah foretell from afar that thou wouldst give birth to the Maker of creation, reverend, all pure Lady. For thou alone wast revealed from the ages as wholly without blemish. Therefore I beg of thee, cleanse my soul, defiled as it is, and make me a partaker of thy son’s divine splendour, O maiden, and appoint me to a place upon his right hand, when (as it is written) he sitteth to judge the whole world.

At Vespers for the 26th of November. Source.

**

Aposticha of Compunction.

WITHOUT ceasing the angels hymn thee, the King and Master; but like unto the Publican I fall before thee, crying: God be merciful to me, and save me!

My soul, thou art immortal, hide not thyself beneath the waves of this life; rouse thyself, and cry unto thy Benefactor: God be merciful to me, and save me!

Martyrs of the Lord, ye hallow every place, and heal every disease: intercede even now with our God, we beg, that our souls be delivered from the snare of the enemy.

Glory be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit.
Both now and forever, and to the ages of ages.

Theotokion.

HAIL, living palace, spiritual dove, hail city of thy Maker. Hail refuge and tower of defence unto the faithful, protection, and salvation, and redemption of them that have put their trust in thee. Hail bridge that carrieth all across to heaven. Hail all-blessed, holy Lady.

At Vespers for Mondays, Plagal of the Fourth tone (said on Sunday evening). Source.

2 thoughts on “Behold, a virgin shall conceive

  1. “My soul, thou art immortal, hide not thyself beneath the waves of this life; rouse thyself, and cry unto thy Benefactor: God be merciful to me, and save me!” This is the prayer intended for me! I shall recite this every night. This was a great night time prayer for me. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

