St Nicholas of Myra, transformed with the intensity of divine love

COME, all peoples, and believe.

Let us climb the holy and heavenly mountain; free from materiality, let us stand in the city of the living God and behold with our intellect the immaterial godhead of the Father and the Spirit blazing forth in the Only-begotten Son.

Thou hast enraptured me with longing for Thee, O Christ, and hast transformed me with the intensity of Thy divine love; with immaterial fire consume my sins and fill me with delight in Thee, so that in my joy, O Lord, I may praise Thy first and second coming.

Thou art all tenderness, O Savior, all my desire, truly the goal of my insatiable longing; Thou art all beauty irresistible.

St Peter of Damaskos. Source.

**

St Nicholas the Wonderworker

St Nicholas the Wonderworker

**

THE Lord who glorifieth all them that glorify him hath given thee, O Nicholas, (whom all men praise,) unto the faithful as a place of refuge, which delivereth from temptations them that make haste unto thy protection, and that call upon thee trustingly and with longing.

CHRIST born, give ye glory; Christ from heaven, go ye out to meet him; Christ upon earth, be ye lift up. Sing unto the Lord all the earth, and be glad in him, raise your hymns ye people, for he is glorified.

Triadikon.

I HOLD in reverence the Trinity, the uncreated, the Father and Son, together with the Spirit, the simple substance, the Godhead, the nature undivided in its substance, the three Persons, distinguishing them individually [1], and by Person [2].

[1] προσωπικῶς [2] καθ’ ὑπόστασιν

Theotokion.

WHEN the serpent that is all wickedness planted within me a longing to be equal to the Fashioner, he took me as his captive; but through thee, all-pure Lady, I have been recalled, I am most truly made divine: for thou art the mother of God, thou didst give birth to him that maketh me divine.

CHRIST born, give ye glory; Christ from heaven, go ye out to meet him; Christ upon earth, be ye lift up. Sing unto the Lord all the earth, and be glad in him, raise your hymns ye people, for he is glorified.

At Matins on the Feast of St Nicholas of Myra. Source.

**

HOLY God, Holy Strong, Holy Immortal, have mercy upon us.

Holy God, Holy Strong, Holy Immortal, have mercy upon us.

Holy God, Holy Strong, Holy Immortal, have mercy upon us.

GLORY be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit.

Both now and for ever, and to the ages of ages.

Power. Yea, power.

HOLY God, Holy Strong, Holy Immortal, have mercy upon us.

(From the Divine Liturgy of St John Chrysostom)

2 thoughts on “St Nicholas of Myra, transformed with the intensity of divine love

  1. “Thou hast enraptured me with longing for Thee, O Christ, and hast transformed me with the intensity of Thy divine love” That’s exactly how I feel about Christ! thank you for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

