A love letter from God

An icon of the return of the prodigal son

“His father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him.” (Luke 15:20)

This was in Briefing News yesterday.

**

MY child.

You may not know me, but I know everything about you. Ps 139:1 [Hebrew numbering]
I know when you are sitting down, and when you are standing up. v2
I know every step you take. v3
Even the hairs of your head are numbered. Mt 10:29-31
Because you were made in my image. Gen 1:27
In me you live, move, and have your being. Acts 17:28

I knew you even before you were formed in your mother’s womb. Jer 1:4-5
I chose you when I planned creation. Eph 1:4-6
You were not a mistake. All your days are written in my book. Ps 139:16
I set the precise time of your birth, and where you were to live. Acts 17:26

Because you were fearfully and wonderfully made. I formed you in the womb of your mother. Ps 139:13-16
And it was I who brought you into the world on the day you that were born. Ps 71:6
People who do not know me have been misrepresenting me. Jn 8:41-44
I am not distant and angry, but am the absolute expression of love. 1 Jn 4:16

And it is my desire to overwhelm you with my love. 1 Jn 3:1
Simply because you are my child, and I am your Father. 1 Jn 3:1
I offer you more than your fleshly father could ever offer you. Mt 7:11
I am the perfect Father. Mt 5: 48
Every good gift that you receive comes from my own hand. Jas 1:17

Because I am your breadwinner, and take care of all your needs. Mt 6:31-33
My plan for your future has always been filled with hope. Jer 29:11
Because I love you with a love that is eternal. Jer 31:3
My thoughts concerning you are innumerable as the grains of sand on the shore. Ps 139:17-18
And I am glad for you with songs. Zeph 3:17

*

The sands on the west coast of the island of Iona, at one time Scotland’s Mount Athos. © Adam Ward, Geograph. Licensed for reuse.

“How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them! Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand.” The sands on the west coast of the island of Iona, at one time Scotland’s Mount Athos. © Adam Ward, Geograph. Licensed for reuse.

*

I will never stop doing good to you. Jer 32:40
For you are my treasured possession. Ex 19:5
I want to plant you firmly, with all my heart and all my soul. Jer 32:41
If you look for me with all your heart, you will find me. Dt 4:29
Look for your happiness in me, and I shall give you what your heart is longing for. Ps 37:4
Because I am the one who gave you those longings. Phil 2:13

I am able to do more for you than you could possibly imagine. Eph 3:20
Because I am your biggest supporter. 2 Thess 2:16-17
I am also the Father who comforts you in all your difficulties. 2 Cor 1:3-4
When you are in trouble, I am beside you. Ps 34:18
As a shepherd carries a lamb, I carry you close to my heart. Is 40:11
One day I will wipe every tear from your eyes. Rev 21:3-4
And I shall take far away all the pain you suffered on this earth. Rev 21:4

I am your Father, and I love you like I love my son, Jesus. Jn 17:23
Because in Jesus my love for you is revealed. Jn 17:26
And he came to prove that I am with you, and not against you. Rom 8:31
And to tell you that I am not keeping a running record of your sins. 2 Cor 5:18-19

Jesus died so that you and I might be reconciled. 2 Cor 5:18-19
His death was the ultimate expression of my love for you. 1 Jn 4:10
I gave up what I loved most, so that I might win your love. Rom 8:32
If you accept the gift of my son Jesus, you are accepting me. 1 Jn 2:23
And nothing will ever separate you from my love. Rom 8:38-39

Come home, and I will throw the grandest party heaven has ever seen. Lk 15:7
I have always been Father, and I will always be Father. Eph 3:14-15
My question is: Will you be my child? Jn 1:12-13
I am waiting for you. Lk 15:11-32

With love, your Father
Almighty God.

Source. My emphases are not all the same as in the original.

4 thoughts on “A love letter from God

  1. I’ve read this before but it’s always beautiful every time! Whoever created this is a genius but probably guided by the Holy Spirit with no doubt!! Thank you for posting this.

  2. Well, that just goes to show. I hadn’t read it before, so I went to all the trouble of translating it… Still, it was worth the effort!!

Leave a Reply

