Prepare, for the Ewe-lamb is here

I REMEMBER my affliction and my wandering, the bitterness and the gall. I well remember them, and my soul is downcast within me.

Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope:

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.

Sunrise at Earl's Croome. © Philip Halling, Geograph. Licensed for reuse. Click for original.

“His compassions never fail; they are new every morning.” Sunrise at Earl’s Croome. © Philip Halling, Geograph. Licensed for reuse. Click for original.

They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.

I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.”

The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.

Lamentations 3:19-26.

**

CAVE, prepare thyself: for the Ewe-lamb is here, bearing Christ within her womb.

Manger, receive him who at a word sets us earthborn free from the irrational act.

Ye shepherds abiding in the fields, bear witness to the thrilling wonder, and ye Wise men from Persia, offer your gold and frankincense and myrrh to the King.

For the Lord hath appeared from a Virgin Mother.

She bent over him, and she too worshipped as a servant; and thus she spake unto him who lay in her embrace: How wast thou sown in me, and how didst thou come to be within me, my redeemer, and my God?

At Vespers for December 15. Source.

2 thoughts on “Prepare, for the Ewe-lamb is here

  1. Not always easy to do, of course! But it is such a constant theme of the Scriptures, and of the teaching of the Elders too.

Leave a Reply

