Our friend, our brother

Detail from an icon of the Nativity of Jesus Christ.

“We’re brothers… I want you to see me as one of your own. I want you to embrace me.” Detail from an icon of the Nativity of Jesus Christ.

**

SOME words of Elder Porphyrios.

HE is our friend, our brother; he is whatever is good and beautiful. He is Everything.

Yet, he is still a friend, and he shouts it out, “You’re my friends, don’t you understand that. We’re brothers. I’m not….I don’t hold hell in my hand. I’m not threatening you. I love you. I want you to enjoy life together with me.” Do you understand? …

He shouts it out, “You are my friends; I don’t want you to look at me differently. I don’t want you to look at me in that way, that I am God, I am the Word of God, I am a Hypostasis (Person) of the Holy Trinity. I want you to see me as one of your own, as your friend. I want you to embrace me. I want you to feel me in your souls. Me, your friend, who, in truth, is the fountain of life.” …

You’ll say to me, have you reached that point yet?

I haven’t reached it, it’s what I want, what I’m looking for. In my silence and always, I try to live like that. I don’t live like that.

But, eh…I try.

**

Leave a Reply

