Just as I am

A monk praying among the rocks

A monk praying among the rocks

AN Englishwoman found herself poised to reject both prayer and God because, burdened as she was by so much torment in asking the question “How can I discover prayer?”, she had received formulaic answers from others. Hearing that Fr Sophrony had come to France, she sought him out and asked him the same question.

Fr Sophrony replied to her, “With God there’s no need to play the politician. Turn to the Lord, who is in your heart, just as you are.” And she found such potent prayer, that as Fr Sophrony said of her, she would pray for hours together with her head touching the floor. That is no small thing for a Westerner. That lady was baptised Orthodox many years ago now.

Told by Fr Rafail Noica. My translation from Greek. Source.

You can read more about Fr Rafail here on Gabriel’s Message.

**

JUST as I am, without one plea,
But that Thy blood was shed for me,
And that Thou bidst me come to Thee,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come.

Charlotte Elliot.

2 thoughts on “Just as I am

Leave a Reply

